Board of Directors

David Arkowitz


David joined our board of directors in 2014. David brings more than 25 years of finance and operations leadership experience in the life sciences and biotechnology industries. David currently serves as the Chief Financial Officer of Flexion Therapeutics Inc. Prior to joining Flexion, he served as Chief Operating Officer and CFO at Visterra, Inc., where he led the finance, business development, corporate planning, and other functions. Previously, he was CFO at Mascoma Corporation, AMAG Pharmaceuticals and Idenix Pharmaceuticals and held additional leadership positions within each company. Preceding his tenure at Idenix, David spent more than 13 years at Merck & Co., Inc. where he held roles of increasing responsibility, including Vice President and Controller of the U.S. operations, Controller of the global research and development division, and CFO of the Canadian subsidiary. He obtained his BA in mathematics at Brandeis University and his MBA in finance at Columbia University Business School.

Dr. Todd Brady


Dr. Brady was appointed President and Chief Executive Officer of Aldeyra Therapeutics in 2012, having been a member of the Board of Directors since 2005. Dr. Brady also served as Entrepreneur in Residence at Domain Associates, LLC, a leading healthcare venture capital firm, in 2013. Prior to joining the firm as a Principal in 2004 Dr. Brady held senior leadership positions at Aderis Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Xanthus Life Sciences, Inc., and Phenome Sciences. Dr. Brady also serves on the Board of Directors of Evoke Pharma, Inc., a publicly traded biotechnology company.

Timothy Clackson, Ph.D.


Dr. Clackson most recently served as president of research and development at ARIAD Pharmaceuticals, Inc. until its acquisition by Takeda. He led the R&D team that discovered and brought to market two innovative targeted therapies for cancer and moved three additional medicines into clinical development. Prior to his seven years as president of R&D, Dr. Clackson served as ARIAD’s senior vice president and chief scientific officer. Dr. Clackson was a postdoctoral fellow at Genentech, Inc. from 1991 to 1994 prior to his joining ARIAD in December 1994. Dr. Clackson currently serves on the Board of Directors of MassBio. He received a B.A. in biochemistry from the University of Oxford, and a Ph.D. in biology from the University of Cambridge.

Martin Driscoll

Director, President and Chief Executive Officer

Marty joined Spring Bank in 2015 as President, Chief Executive Officer and Director. Previously, he served as CEO of Asmacure Ltée, a venture-backed, clinical-stage biopharmaceutical company which he joined in late 2010. Asmacure Ltée was acquired by a privately-held Canadian life sciences company in July 2015. Prior to Asmacure, Marty was the CEO and a director of Javelin Pharmaceuticals, Inc., a publicly-traded developer of acute care pain products, from March 2008 until July 2010, when he engineered the merger of Javelin with Hospira, Inc. He also served in various senior management roles at Schering-Plough Corporation, ViroPharma, Inc. and Reliant Pharmaceuticals, Inc. In 2007, Marty co-founded Pear Tree Pharmaceuticals, Inc., a privately-held developer of women’s healthcare products. He has been involved with or led the commercialization of several important therapies, the direct negotiation of numerous licensing and M&A transactions, multiple private and public capital fundraising efforts and the successful submission of major product regulatory filings. Marty also served as a director on the boards of four private and public biopharmaceutical development companies and currently serves on the board of Asmacure Ltée. Marty holds a BSc in communications from the University of Texas at Austin. He is a trustee of the Barn for the Poorest of the Poor, a non-profit food pantry based in New Jersey.

Kurt M. Eichler


Kurt joined our board of directors in 2015. In 1979, Kurt began his career at Merrill Lynch Hubbard Inc. in the Real Estate Debt and Equity Finance Group. In 1982, he joined The Linpro Company (now LCOR, Inc.) as Director of Commercial and Industrial Operations for the suburban Philadelphia area. In 1983, he became Operating Partner in the Center City Philadelphia Office. Kurt was Executive Vice President and Principal of LCOR in charge of operations of the metropolitan New York region. Based in New York City, Kurt served on LCOR’s Executive Committee. Kurt has served on several boards over the last decade including DARA BioSciences, Inc. (now Midatech Pharma US), MiMedxGroup, Inc. and Maia Yogurt. Kurt holds a BS from the University of Wyoming.

R.P. “Kris” Iyer, Ph.D.

Director, Co-Founder, Chief Scientific Officer

Kris is an innovator in the fields of nucleic acid chemistry, bioorganic chemistry and pharmaceutical sciences. He was co-founder and VP of Discovery of Origenix Technologies, Inc. from 1998 to 2002. There he directed a team of 30 scientists in chemistry and biology and was instrumental in advancing several programs from discovery to clinical development. From 1993 to 1998, Kris was a Senior Scientist and Associate Director of the Discovery Group at Hybridon, Inc. (now Idera Pharmaceuticals, Inc.). Previously, Kris was a Professor of Medicinal Chemistry at the University of Bombay, a Visiting Scientist at the University of Texas, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center and a Visiting Scientist at the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research at FDA/NIH. Kris received his BS (Hons) in chemistry, BS and MS degrees in Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry from the University of Bombay. He received his PhD degree in Pharmaceutical Sciences from the University of the Pacific, Stockton, California and carried out postdoctoral work at the OakRidge National Laboratory and at the Johns Hopkins University. He is an author of over 100 scientific papers and several books on organic synthesis and is an inventor of more than 100 patents and patent applications. In 2004, Kris was elected as a Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry, UK and in 2008 he was elected as a Fellow of International Society of Physical Sciences. In 2004, he was awarded the M. L. Khorana Memorial Award by the Indian Pharmaceutical Association and in 2003 elected as the UICT Diamond Jubilee Distinguished Fellow in Pharmaceutical Sciences. Kris has served on the Scientific Advisory Board of Topigen Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and currently serves on the National Institutes of Health (NIH) review panel for grants and contracts.

Scott Smith


Scott joined our board of directors in August 2018. Scott most recently served as president and chief operating officer at Celgene Corporation. From 2010 through 2017, he served as an executive vice president and president of Inflammation & Immunology at Celgene. Under Scott’s leadership, the Inflammation & Immunology franchise at Celgene developed into a global business with more than a billion dollars in revenue. Prior to joining Celgene in 2008, Scott was a vice president & general manager and head of strategic marketing and business analysis at Biovail Pharmaceuticals, Inc. He currently serves on the board of directors of Titan Pharmaceuticals and Triumvira Immunologics, Inc. He received his B.S. degree in Chemistry and Biology and his Honors B.S. degree in Toxicology and Pharmacology from the University of Western Ontario and his Master’s degree in International Management from the American Graduate School of International Management in Glendale, AZ.